Tags

, , , ,

Time to dish out my first batch of Flower Smeller awards – courtesy of Go! Smell the Flowers, who kindly bestowed this award on my blog.

Lucky me, I now get to hand out five awards a month for as long as I feel like doing so…

<Shamelessly ripping off Jim’s words>
This badge serves to acknowledge others who are in their own way, smelling the flowers.

So who can be a Flower Smeller exactly??
Could be anyone. They may have recovered from an illness, written a book, made waves in the blogosphere, inspired others, made a major shift in their life, quit the rat race, discovering their greatness and on it GO!s as more examples from around the world start to surface. They may not even have an online presence at all – that’s where this award differs! </Shamelessly ripping off Jim’s words>

Now, some of the blogs I read frequently are already Flower Smellers! Still, I have a decent list of blogs to draw my five for the month from.

And my October awards go to…

It aint easy, and there will be more ofcourse, but for now… here’s my first five (in no particular order):

1. A joint Flower Smeller award goes to Catatonic Kid (a previous FS award winner) and Isabella of Change Therapy.
CK, a fellow Aussie, is a brave, talented and artistic writer who struggles daily with depression and related issues. Isabella is a Canadian psychotherapist. They’ve been hosting a cross-blog conversation, an exchange that is both beautiful and inspiring. Thanks to you both for this series.
Some of their exchanges are as follows…

2. Yoga For Cynics
Now don’t go getting a big head or anything Dr Jay… ah what the heck! I’m a huge fan of this man’s writing. An established author and academic, Jay has a talent for combining his exploration of yoga with his very own personal brand of cynicism and humour. Jay’s blog posts are poetic, intelligent and thought provoking (even when his political satire goes over my head).

3. My very good friend, author and fellow yogi, Karen Birkemoe
In 2000, my Guru and I were in London together and he suggested that on my return, I meet a Canadian ex-pat student of his who was coming to Australia to live in his house in Sydney. We met and instantly were friends – she’s just that sort of sweet and gorgeous spirited gal. I adore her.

I was extremely proud when she had her first ever book published “Strike a Pose: The Planet Girl Guide to Yoga“. The intent of this book is to make yoga “cool” for young teenage girls. A worthy aim if ever there was one!! So… if you know any teen or pre-teen girls, I suggest buying her book ofcourse!

She doesn’t have a website yet although I keep threatening to build one for her, but she’s escaped me for the moment, off visiting family in Canada. πŸ˜‰

4. Miss Sensuality
Amy writes about love, romance and related topics in a highly sensual and insightful style that’s very accessible. She’s also a published author, a podcast star in the US and is the creator of Aphrodisiac6 product line; a line of essential oils, candles, soaps and bath herbs. You go girl!!

5. Last but far from least – The Itty Bitty Kitty Committee
As an animal lover, I’m very inspired by IBKC. Based in the Seattle/Tacoma area (USA), Laurie both runs this blog and is a kitty mama extraordinaire. She fosters and lovingly names all the orphaned kittens and helps them find a home. And her blog is a great way of getting the message out about these sweet little balls-o-puff. Laurie, I applaud you!

Award winners – CONGRATS!!!

Just leave a comment at this post to accept your award before the end of the month and the badge is yours.Β  πŸ˜€

The rules of this award are:

  1. Publish the Flower Smeller badge (see above) on your blog, and award it to 5 others by writing a post with links to the 5 blogs or websites (or whatever) that you choose.
  2. From now until eternity you can award this badge to a maximum of 5 people per month as and when you come across more Flower Smellers. And – when you do, contact GSTF to let them know the 5 you choose so they can add them to the Flower Smeller section of their site and the Flower Smeller blogroll.
  3. Link to the post where your award was announced, so people can read about the origin of the award and find their way to the GSTF community.
  4. Write a post announcing your award, proudly displaying the Flower Smeller badge.
  5. All Flower Smellers – note that you may be approached to write a 500 word account of yourself to feature in the GSTF 2009 book – it could happen to you!!

~Svasti

